Hey guys! As I am still working on ideas for regular blog posts and series, I figured an easy way to kick things off is to share what a “normal” day of eating looks like for me. Granted, what is normal these days? I know that every day is different, at least in my world!

Yesterday was a typical eating day when I have a Crossfit class. I eat differently when I have a weightlifting class or rest day though. Perhaps I’ll share one of those days (with photos) next time!

6:15am – 2 Paleo Muffins that I baked on Sunday for the week. These are made with almond flour, eggs, applesauce, honey, cinnamon, and blueberries. I fully plan on sharing this recipe soon, as it is customizable, quite delicious, and an easy, on-the-go breakfast option!

6:45am – Black coffee with a scoop of collagen peptides. I have just recently discovered collagen peptides, and I am in love! These bad boys pack a (tasteless) punch with amino acids AND protein. I have found that my nails are stronger, my hair is healthier, and my mid-morning appetite is suppressed when I have a scoop in my coffee.

12:30pm – Lunch this week is Buffalo Chicken Salad. On Sunday, I tossed the ingredients to make buffalo chicken in the crockpot (chicken, hot sauce, seasonings, and ghee) and let it work its magic before shredding to perfection. I have been reheating the chicken just before serving over some romaine with shredded carrots and some paleo ranch dressing. It has been unexpectedly hitting the spot, day after day! This is definitely going to be in my regular rotation.

2:00pm – My afternoon snack today was a mixture of ginger snap and chocolate flax cookies by Go Raw. I have recently discovered this brand at Whole Foods, and I have been very impressed!

6:40pm – Time for my pre-workout snack! Class is at 7pm, so I sucked down a pouch of the Plum Organics fruit & veggies. Tonight’s flavor was Beet Berry Bliss. I hate beets, but I do enjoy this flavor. It’s essentially fancy applesauce.

8:00pm – Immediately following my workout (my last Lurong workout for the challenge!) I scarf down a Larabar. It holds me over until I can get home and showered to have dinner. Tonight’s flavor was the new-to-me Banana Bread flavor. I was leery, but oh my goodness was this yummy!

8:45pm – I hate eating dinner late, but meal-prep does make this more tolerable. Tonight’s dinner was some mexican meatballs (ground chicken, lots of seasonings) with some mashed sweet potato. It was filling, but not overly heavy.

And there you have it! As you can see, there wasn’t much snacking going on. This is something that I am working on personally. I tend to not snack on healthy foods, so my solution was to cut it out. During this Lurong challenge, I haven’t been counting calories/macros but instead focusing on food quality. I fully plan on getting things to be more balanced again after the challenge is over. I miss my oatmeal and brown rice!

Now it’s your turn! What did you have to eat today? 

 

Image Credit: FreeFoodPhotos.com
