Hi everyone! I hope you all had lovely weekends and a lovely Easter! Last week, I talked about protein and its importance in your diet. I also briefly touched on animal vs. plant based protein. So today, I want to share with you a few recipes that I’ve enjoyed that include animal or plant based proteins!

First up, plant-based protein recipes! These are either vegetarian or vegan:

  1. Vegetarian Italian Chopped Salad from Cookie + Kate. If you are looking for veggie-centric recipes, Cookie + Kate delivers time and time again. A great blog to follow!
  2. Almond Butter Tofu Stir Fry from Minimalist Baker. Minimalist Baker has nailed the method to getting great tofu. If you are leery of tofu or simply new to it, I highly recommend their process.
  3. Thai Pineapple Fried Rice from Cookie + Kate. I couldn’t resist! Kick up the protein by adding some chickpeas or tofu.

Next, here are some animal-based protein dishes:

  1. Baked Lime Chicken from Yummy Healthy Easy. I made this yesterday, and served it with some roasted green beans and some stuffing (not the greatest side choice, I know). The chicken was delicious and so easy to make!
  2. Unstuffed Cabbage Bowls from Skinnytaste. I made this with lean turkey instead of the beef, but it was still yummy and surprisingly filling! I actually didn’t finish the serving size because I was so stuffed!
  3. Chicken Soup with Spinach and Whole Wheat Acini di Pepe from Skinnytaste. I know soup season is on its way out, but this is so good!

What are your favorite protein-packed recipes? Later this week, I’ll be back to give you the low-down on two other important nutrients: Carbohydrates and Fats! As always, let me know if there is any content that you’d like to see in the future!

